Sigma Alpha Iota History

Sigma Alpha Iota is an international music fraternity founded June 12, 1903 at the University School of Music, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Incorporation papers for the State of Michigan were signed December 1, 1904 and recorded December 15, 1904.

The Founders were seven upperclass and graduate students – Elizabeth Campbell, Frances Caspari, Minnie Davis Sherrill, Leila Farlin Laughlin, Nora Crane Hunt, Georgia Potts and Mary Storrs Andersen.

(All links lead to biographies on the Sigma Alpha Iota National Website.)

Sigma Alpha Iota’s purposes are:

To form chapters of women college students and alumnae who have a sincere interest in music.
To uphold the highest standards of music.
To further the development of music in America and throughout the world.
To give inspiration and encouragement to members.
To organize the cultural life of Sigma Alpha Iota members as a contributing factor to their educational growth.
To support the ideals and goals of the member's Alma Mater.
To adhere to the highest standards of citizenship in school, community and fraternity life.